Firearms / Media / My Experience

Weapons Caught in the Internet Filter at Baylor University

As I mentioned in my last post, I am in the Republic of Texas, at Baylor University in Waco. I am here to string tennis rackets at the NCAA national championships, but using my downtime to do some work on Gun Culture 2.0.

As a guest of the university, I was given access to the event Wi-Fi provided by Baylor, for which I was very thankful. While I was writing up my recent post on Blackhawk’s “Own It” advertisement, I wanted to give a little background on the company. So I tried to go to Blackhawk’s website and received the following notification:

Baylor Website Blockage

I don’t know much about the culture and politics of Baylor, but I wonder if it is basically in Texas but not of it?

Also, following up on my complaint about the NFL banning a gun advertisement but welcoming advertisements that sell sex and alcohol, I decided to see if Baylor would block me from going to look at sexy photos on the Campari website. Survey says:

Campari Screen Shot

Yes! Looking at websites that use sex to sell alcohol is A-OK. Looking at the websites about weapons, not so much.

Edit: I should clarify that I am not arguing that access to the Campari website SHOULD be blocked, nor am I arguing that NO sites should be blocked. I simply question why WEAPONS are blocked but not other subjects and images that could also be linked to problematic attitudes and behaviors.

3 thoughts on “Weapons Caught in the Internet Filter at Baylor University

  1. ok but let’s discuss what should and should not be blocked (if anything). You don’t want sex and alcohol banned either, right? Just wish you’d make this explicit. 🙂

    Like

    • Good and fair point. I put a note at the bottom clarifying my position. I don’t think weapons as a general category should be blocked, nor should the Campari website. It was just the difference between the two that I found notable. As with the NFL accepting sex and alcohol ads but not a home defense ad by a gun manufacturer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

