Media / My Experience

Congratulating Myself for Doing More Than I Expected

When I began this blog almost 5 years ago, I did so because I had no scholarly expertise in the sociology of guns and no ongoing research project in the area. All I had was an interest and the need for an outlet to write down what I was thinking and learning.

So the fact that people actually read and interact with my writing here continues to be extremely surprising and gratifying. Especially since I have a very particular niche within the broader world of gun blogs.

One measure of this unexpected attention was an email I received recently from Anuj Agarwal, the founder of the internet information aggregator Feedspot (we used to call these RSS aggregators or readers). Agarwal wanted to let me know that Gun Culture 2.0 ranks among the Top 100 Gun Blogs in their rating system.

 

I don’t know the formula they use other than “search and social metrics,” but scrolling through the list the ranking makes alot of sense. More of the blogs I follow appear higher on the list. I come in at #62, which seems appropriately modest.

 

Although I am as wary of self-congratulations as the next person, I did want to take a moment to give myself a pat on the back, if only for exceeding my own (low) expectations for this blog.

And by the way, I need to increase my Facebook likes and Twitter followers. The Black Man With a Gun is crushing me. Help a brother out!

One thought on “Congratulating Myself for Doing More Than I Expected

  1. Please don’t get on Twitter. I understand that driving traffic is very important, but Twitter is an example of exactly why this blog is so good. Twitter is everything condensed to 140 characters, reduced to the barest and most simplistic interpretation of concepts. I’m no scholar, but I regard that platform as an example of one the things that is very wrong with society.

    Like

Leave a Reply

