Light Over Heat #13: When Violence IS and IS NOT the Answer

In Light Over Heat Ep 12, I talked about how violence can be virtuous and my life-altering realization that I might need to use it to protect my children or myself.

A commentator on that video distinguished between violence being virtuous and violence being desirable. I don’t see violence as desirable, i.e., being subjectively pleasing or worth seeking in and of itself. It is a means to the end of protecting life, family, or friends. That is what makes it virtuous.

This reminded me of Tim Larkin’s book When Violence is the Answer, about which I have written previously. Larkin argues BOTH that when violence is the answer, it’s the only answer, AND that violence is rarely the answer.

In this video, I connect these ideas to a training course I took at The Complete Combatant in Georgia called “Force Readiness” (see my review) in which I learned that skillset = choice, and that in the end, I am the weapon.

Further supporting documentation for this video includes Tamara Keel on “can’t lose a fight you’re not in,” the idea of Pascal’s Wager applied to self-defense, and John Steinbeck’s saying that the brain is the final weapon.

In addition to The Complete Combatant, other training courses I have attended that emphasize when violence is and is not the answer include: Extreme Close Quarters Combat with Craig Douglas of Shivworks (read my review) and Concealed Carry: Advanced Skills and Tactics with John Murphy of FPF Training (read my review).

Please surf over to my “Light Over Heat” YouTube channel and SUBSCRIBE to follow, RING THE BELL to receive notifications, and SHARE so others can learn about this work.

2 comments

  1. I rarely feel the urge to carry in Santa Fe, which is pretty safe. But these latest headlines had me slipping the EC9s into an IWB holster before driving to the Albuquerque Sunport and back early this morning.

    Hotel guard killed; police, deputies dodge bullets in 2 separate incidents

    By Matthew Reisen and Martin Salazar / Journal Staff Writers
    Published: Tuesday, March 29th, 2022 at 9:03AM
    Updated: Tuesday, March 29th, 2022 at 9:58PM

    Police say a “transient” gunned down a security guard in a hotel hallway and carjacked a man outside before getting into a shootout with the officers on his tail.

    Hours later across town, two women fired at a deputy during a traffic stop after the pair tried to carjack someone in the South Valley….

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.