Review of “Gunfight: My Battle Against the Industry that Radicalized America” by Ryan Busse (Part 1)

Ryan Busse is mad and he doesn’t deny it. He also wants to atone for his sins and this book is part of that process. But seeing red and mea culpas are a blessing and a curse. They’re what makes Gunfight: My Battle Against the Industry that Radicalized America (Public Affairs, 2021) a fascinating memoir and also explain its shortcomings as an analysis of contemporary gun culture and politics.

As Vice President of Sales for the gun manufacturer Kimber, Busse had a front-row seat to the drama of the contemporary culture war over guns. He also exposes, in ways reminiscent of Paul Barrett’s book Glock, the questionable professionalism of some in the gun industry. Busse recalls taking $5,000 from the Kimber coffers (at a time when the company was having trouble meeting payroll) to pay for booze and strippers for a birthday party for Greg Warne, the “oversexed frat boy” president and owner of Kimber (p. 49).

This actually helps put “the gun industry” in context. We do well to recall that like every industry it is composed of various businesses, some of which are poorly run by people of dubious ethics. Also, the big, bad gun industry that critics build up is actually “rather small by traditional measures” (p. 87), according to Philip Cook and Kristin Goss (The Gun Debate: What Every American Needs to Know).The gun industry is similar in size to potato chips or ice cream but far from big pharma or big alcohol or big business in its size or influence.

Busse’s memoir is also a family drama as his move from being a “gunrunner” to a “gunfighter” (p. 17) is affected by – and affects – his wife and children. In fact, Gunfight begins at a June 2020 Black Lives Matter rally in Kalispell, Montana during which a counter-protester curses at Busse’s 12-year-old son, calling him “an evil little bastard” and poking his finger into the boy’s chest. This would make me furious, too, so I appreciate Busse’s rage.

Busse sees this moment as a microcosm of the radicalization of America wrought by the National Rifle Association and its economic arm, the gun industry.

(Note: Busse counters assertions that “the NRA is just an arm of the gun industry” by claiming the opposite: “The gun industry is an arm of the NRA” [p. 119]. Busse even suggests, but does not give specific examples of, gun manufacturers allowing the NRA to name products [p. 120]. Regardless of who owns who, it seems undeniable that the NRA and the gun industry work hand-in-hand, not unlike the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States and Beam Suntory, Campari Group, Diageo, et al.)

I don’t question the radicalization of some gun owners, but my own wandering around gun culture in America for the past 12 years makes me wonder if Gunfight shows us (A) the “center of mass” of contemporary gun culture, (B) the leading edge of the gun culture to come, or (C) just the loudest and most visible part of gun culture today?

I argue for option C. For example, Busse says of the Kalispell rally that there were thousands of BLM supporters and just dozens of counter-protesters (p. 8). Certainly, a minority of people can do a great deal of damage, but by centering Oath Keepers and Three Percenters in this event, is he giving them too much of a starring role in the bigger picture of gun culture?

I have observed the same about the “missing insurrectionist gun owners” in the storming of the U.S. Capitol Building on January 6th. Certainly, gun symbols were evident that day and Oath Keepers are going to jail for seditious conspiracy. But the few (hundreds or thousands) should not be too quickly generalized to the many (tens of millions).

My concern, then, is that Busse can’t see the forest for the trees because he is too deeply involved in his subject matter. Or perhaps more precisely, he overgeneralizes from the trees he has seen and experienced for so long to the entire forest. (Insofar as he also contributes to the master narrative of democracy-destroying right-wing politics, he shares this liability with Harel Shapira and others.)

National Rifle Association annual meeting, 2013. Photo by David Yamane

A big part of Busse’s claim beyond the memoir part of Gunfight is the central causal role the NRA and gun industry played in radicalizing America. Here I think his causal claims are too strong.

He claims, for example, “the new US political system had been rigged by the NRA” (p. 283). He talks about “MAGA devotion” being “spawned” by the NRA (p. 284). He highlights “NRA-funded political gridlock” (p. 283), as if NRA funding caused the gridlock.

Certainly, the NRA’s politics have become more strongly aligned with conservative politics in general, as Matthew Lacombe convincingly argues in Firepower. But alignment is not causation and Busse doesn’t provide any evidence to the contrary.

At times Busse’s causal claims are more modest, as when he says the gun industry played a “leading role” in radicalizing the country (e.g., p. 57). But when his tone turns more strident, he lapses into more empirically questionable assertions like: “The gun industry and the NRA have successfully transformed an entire country” (p. 303).

In fact, Busse claims – without evidence and against known evidence – that the NRA is the “world’s most powerful political organization” (p. 161). This is especially noteworthy as in the next paragraph he criticizes the NRA for making “unsubstantiated claims” (p. 161). Two wrongs don’t make a right. But they certainly do contribute to political polarization.

Busse’s overreaching causal arguments combine with the generally strident tone of the book to make me want to summarize it as: “Polarizing book criticizes polarization.”

At points, Busse does seem to recognize that political polarization (especially over guns) in America today is a two-ways street (a caveat I also make in my review of Jennifer Carlson’s new book, Merchants of the Right). If the NRA poured the gasoline of fear onto our political moment, “Democrats struck a match” that ignited the fire (p. 128).

Busse frequently highlights polarizing rhetoric coming from the NRA and gun industry, but doesn’t see his use of politically dismissive language like “common sense” (or sometimes brought together as “commonsense” – p. 307) as problematic.

“What I regret is that I helped the NRA create a political world where that debate can no longer happen,” Busse writes. “The NRA fomented a hardline ‘you’re with us or against us’ position that left no room for common sense” (p. 131). But as I have been saying for years now, common sense is itself a political term meant to create divisions of you’re with us (you have common sense) or you’re not (you don’t).

Busse writes from a particular perspective, which is his prerogative and certainly something that compelled Hachette Book Group (whose parent Lagardere is majority-owned by the French media holding company Vivendi) to acquire his book. Polarization sells.

Fake cover of the book I should have written if I wanted to sell books

A telling analogy that Busse gives is describing himself as “a frog who had jumped into the gun-industry pot when the water was tolerable” only to find “the temperature was creeping up” after the 1994 assault weapon ban (p. 69). By 2017, he “was still a frog in that pot” but “now grasped just how hot the water really was” (pp. 273-4).

From that point forward he was ever more committed to “speak truth to bullshit,” a phrase Busse takes from cultural influencer Brene Brown. But Brown argues that getting beyond “bullshit” requires avoiding forced choices and false dichotomies. It requires us to think beyond either/or.

Busse has certainly experienced some “bullshit” in his time in the gun industry. Unfortunately, he doesn’t provide us with the kind of graceful, wholistic, both/and approach to the issue of guns in American that can get us beyond it.

I have hundreds of more words of reaction to Gunfight that I hope to share in a following blog post if I can transform the mess into coherent sentences. Stay tuned.

Thanks for reading beyond the headline. If you appreciate this or some of the other 1000+ posts on this blog, please consider supporting my research and writing on American gun culture by liking and sharing my work.

9 comments

  1. Mostly agree, David, although I kept waiting for Ryan to really go ballistic and never thought he did. But maybe I am thick skinned. So pardon me if I don’t wait to get my own bullshit into coherent thoughts and sentences. Here goes.

    I don’t think Ryan describes a lot of gun owners or what passes for normal, non-strident, gun culture, even among the AR crowd (full disclosure: I have an AR and a Mini-14). We have about 1000 people in my club who shoot trap, skeet, various pistol, some own ARs and some don’t and few get into the most vocal politics. Mostly, they like to shoot guns. All sorts of guns. Then we have the folks in NM who managed to get a gun ban instituted at our state capitol by showing up slinging ARs and AKs over their shoulders in hearing rooms whenever a gun bill was being heard. Just as the loudest voices dominate, the most extreme cosplay gets the most attention. Not to mention, scare the crap out of people.

    The advertising does bother me. In order to sell G.C. 2.0 guns, you have G.C. 2.0 advertisements, i.e., sell threat to sell guns. What I see people buying are plastic rifles and plastic pistols. I don’t know if the trigger pulls the finger, but whenever a mass shooter uses a Glock style pistola or a black rifle, it isn’t good for our side. But they are cheaper than traditional handguns and rifles. I looked at a Kimber 22 LR bolt action rifle, used. 900 bucks. Was beautiful, but not sure beautiful enough to make me trade my pretty nice Ruger 10/22 with a varigated wood stock, stainless barrel, and shitty trigger. My personal favorite guns lately? The beat up Mossberg single shot 22 LR that I found in the back of a guns shop for 75 bucks, and restored to near new condition. Excellent trigger and minute of angle. And that old High Standard Supermatic Trophy.

    I think the polarization is a two way street and mutually reinforcing. The trenches get deeper and wider on both sides. Ryan describes the nastiest gun politics but I live in a city where the Mayor hates guns, Council rammed through a resolution that violates state preemption, and one of his allies once demanded that anyone with NRA affiliation be banned from any government committees. So far they have ignored me (I serve on two committees) even though I am on the executive board of an NRA affiliated club and routinely work with the regional NRA representative. Go ahead, fire me; it is all volunteer work so I’ll take the pay cut. And of course there is the People’s Republic of San Francisco, running the last gun store outa town and declaring the NRA a terrorist organization. Seems to me one good scream deserves another. And both sides’ social media is loathsome.

    As far as the far right? I disagree in part with Jennifer and Ryan as I don’t think that the far right portion of the gun movement is the dominant driver of far right politics, in numbers or intellectual firepower. I think that is a Trump cult of personality combined with the religious right, economic interests, increasing distrust of structures, bad social media, and of course guns. I think the NRA has opportunistically jumped on board but disagree it is the driving force. Yes, the NRA, GOA, etc are important members of the tribe but I don’t think they are the critical mass of it. I see Jennifer Carlson’s two books, Citizen Protectors and MOTR as a continuum of movement to more extreme politics as our post-industrialization period continues to drive down self worth from work and family. But only the gun portion of it. But sure, guns are important symbols. As are Bibles, as Obama reminded us.

    We do need to understand this stuff. I think Ryan brings a good voice but not the whole story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thinking back to some of Ryan’s criticism of the gun industry, in that it sold out in moving from “acceptable” blued steel meticulously crafted guns to plastic fantastic rifles and handguns, I wonder if the gun industry has created a market or responded to one. Certainly once ARs were legal, they sold as forbidden fruit, but also because they are fun guns to shoot (not to mention, 5.56 ammo is cheap) and some folks simply like military style stuff. If there was not a market for self defense, what we saw in Covid was it would create itself. And if self-defense is a virtue, one wants a firearm designed for self defense, not skeet. And one that is affordable rather than a work of craftsmanship available to the well to do. The first centerfire pistol I bought when I got back into the shooting sports was not a Gold Cup National Match but a Rock Island. Once I tested the water, I was willing to upgrade. Someone else now has that Rock, which was so big and heavy that if you ran out of ammo, you could kill by clubbing with it.

      Whether the AR-15 clones are an excess and point to the gun industry being unethical? I guess it depends on your point of view. Is a 2023 Toyota Tacoma that looms over my old 1996 Tacoma an unethical excess when we worry about carbon emissions and pedestrian fatalities? I think so, since most people who buy them are not hauling a half ton of construction stuff but a half gallon of milk. One does have to ask whether some things are just too much of a good thing, whether it is a 500 buck AR or a hulking Ford Super Duty in the mall parking lot.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I get the sense that Busse was personally offended that the firearms industry and gun culture morphed from what he thought it should be. In that sense, he felt jilted, and _Gun Fight_ is his revenge prn.

        Like

  2. I hope you take time to touch on how much Busse gets paid as an expert witness in court, while telling outright lies.

    Like

  3. I read his book when it came out and was very saddened to see the lack of proposed solutions or ideas for all of us to consider.  I found much of what you stated and was really stunned, as a non-hunter and lover of animals, his entire section describing the prairie dog hunt (slaughter in my opinion of precious little angels!) in which one guy showed up with an evil black rifle which almost led to Busse having a stroke… I feel Busse is a bit of an unstable person to be honest.  I tried to Twitter DM engage him privately with respectful questions but he was immediately abrasive, almost abusive, in his replies.  Like you said, his polarization comments are quite hypocritical. 
    Mark

    Like

    • There was that disconnect with the prairie dog hunt that bothered me, too. When I was a teen, my stepdad would take me hunting for woodchucks, aka ground hogs. He found it fun to shoot them just as targets and bought a Savage rifle chambered in 225 Winchester to do the job, reloading it meticulously to get the most accuracy and precision. I would hunt with a Remington rifle chambered in 22 Long Rifle.

      Of course anything shot with the 225 Winchester cartridge was blown to smithereens. But the 22LR resulted in usable meat. I insisted one day that we bring the woodchucks home and cook them, since otherwise it just seemed like killing for the sake of killing them. My old man looked a little nonplussed, but said, sure, OK. At least that provided a justification.

      So I took found parts of the book to involve a little bit of cognitive dissonance, unless one thinks shooting prairie dogs for sport is OK but shooting humans is evil. I’m old now, and maybe it took too long, but think killing has to be justified. Either self defense or something to eat or at least something justifying the taking of life.

      I hunted for meat for many years and eventually got to the point where I couldn’t shoot an animal any more, so became a vegetarian. I still enjoy shooting at targets as long as they are inanimate. That includes shooting an AR-556 as well as more “classic” rifles and handguns. To me, no gun is good or evil. It is the mens rea of the person behind the sights.

      Like

  4. I read but did not study “Gunfight…” It was a good read which I really enjoyed but had the perspective of some reformed smokers or drinkers: Obsessed and defensive about their sin. It did not lead me to potential solutions to the many gun “problems” presented today, especially by the progressive establishment. I just read Pew for June 28, 2023, and America is split down the middle on the question whether gun ownership does more to increase or decrease safety in the U.S. It is 49% to 49%. I see this as a key question and clarifying the result and the implications are key. On June 2nd Ryan Busse did a ProPublica interview. His message in the article and I believe the book is that the industry and he NRA once had standards, but now they are completely opportunistic presumably to make money and accumulate power. “So, we can, as a society, demand reinstatement of those norms. Those have nothing to do with laws. They don’t require legislation. They don’t require two-thirds of the vote in the Senate. We can demand that. And we may have to.” So, we are divided on whether guns make us safer, and we as a society have difficulty establishing accountability for the recent increase in gun homicides. We cannot establish that the laws we have enacted have been very effective in curtailing gun homicides and in certain places such as the state I live in, Oregon, the murders have increased as we have enacted more and more gun laws. The only bright spot to me is folks like you Professor Yamane who use great scholarly skills to sort out truth from so much BS. Please keep the faith in intellectual balance and inquiry.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.